\indexes;creating bibliographies\\databases;creating bibliographies\\bibliographies\\entries;bibliographies\\storing bibliographic information\

Creating a Bibliography

A bibliography is a list of works that you reference in a document.

Storing Bibliographic Information

LibreOffice stores bibliographic information in a bibliography database, or in an individual document.

To store information in the bibliography database:

  1. Choose Tools - Bibliography Database

  2. Choose Data - Record.

  3. Type a name for the bibliography entry in the \Short name \box, and then add additional information to the record in the remaining boxes.

  4. Close the\ Bibliography Database\ window.

To store bibliographic information in an individual document:

  1. Click in your document where you want to add the bibliography entry.

  2. Choose Insert - Table of Contents and Index - Bibliography Entry.

  3. Select \From document content\ and click \New\.

  4. Type a name for the bibliography entry in the \Short name \box.

  5. Select the publication source for the record in the \Type \box, and then add additional information in the remaining boxes.

  6. Click \OK\.

  7. In the \Insert Bibliography Entry \dialog, click \Insert\, and then \Close\.

Note Icon

When you save a document that contains bibliography entries, the corresponding records are automatically saved in a hidden field in the document.


Inserting Bibliography Entries From the Bibliography Database

  1. Click in your document where you want to add the bibliography entry.

  2. Choose \Insert - Indexes and Tables - Bibliography Entry\.

  1. Select \From bibliography database\.

  2. Select the name of the bibliography entry that you want to insert in the \Short name \box.

  3. Click \Insert\ and then click \Close\.

Please support us!