\<bookmark_value\>indexes; formatting\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>editing; index format\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>tables of contents; formatting\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>entries; in tables of contents, as hyperlinks\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>tables of contents; hyperlinks as entries\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>hyperlinks; in tables of contents and indexes\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>formatting;indexes and tables of contents\</bookmark_value\>

Formatting an Index or a Table of Contents

You can apply different paragraph styles, assign hyperlinks to entries, change the layout of indexes, and change the background color of indexes in the \<emph\>Insert Index\</emph\> dialog.

To apply a different paragraph style to an index level:

  1. Right-click in the index or table of contents, and then choose \<emph\>Edit Index/Table\</emph\>.

  2. Click the \<emph\>Styles \</emph\>tab.

  3. Click an index level in the \<emph\>Levels \</emph\>list.

  4. Click the style that you want to apply in the \<emph\>Paragraph Style \</emph\>list.

  5. Click the assign button \<emph\><\</emph\>.

  6. Click \<emph\>OK\</emph\>.

To assign hyperlinks to entries in a table of contents:

You can assign a cross-reference as a hyperlink to entries in a table of contents.

  1. Right-click in the table of contents, and then choose \<emph\>Edit Index/Table\</emph\>.

  2. Click the \<emph\>Entries\</emph\> tab.

  3. Click the heading level that you want to assign hyperlinks to in the \<emph\>Level \</emph\>list.

  4. In the \<emph\>Structure \</emph\>area, click in the box in front of \<emph\>E#\</emph\>, and then click \<emph\>Hyperlink\</emph\>.

  5. Click in the box behind the \<emph\>E\</emph\>, and then click \<emph\>Hyperlink\</emph\>.

  6. Repeat for each heading level that you want to create hyperlinks for, or click the \<emph\>All levels\</emph\> button to apply the formatting to all levels.

Creating a Table of Contents

Defining Index or Table of Contents Entries

Updating, Editing and Deleting Indexes and Tables of Contents

Editing or Deleting Index and Table Entries

Creating Alphabetical Indexes

User-Defined Indexes

Creating a Bibliography

Indexes Covering Several Documents

Please support us!