Importing and Exporting dBASE Files

You can open and save data in the dBASE file format (*.dbf file extension) in LibreOffice Base or a spreadsheet. In LibreOffice Base, a dBASE database is a folder that contains files with the .dbf file extension. Each file corresponds to a table in the database. Formulas and formatting are lost when you open and save a dBASE file from LibreOffice.

To Import a dBASE File Into a Spreadsheet

  1. Choose File - Open.

  2. Locate the *.dbf file that you want to import.

  3. แƒ“แƒแƒแƒฌแƒ™แƒแƒžแƒฃแƒœแƒ”แƒ— แƒ“แƒแƒ›แƒแƒขแƒ”แƒ‘แƒแƒ–แƒ”.

    The Import dBASE files dialog opens.

  4. แƒ“แƒแƒแƒฌแƒ™แƒแƒžแƒฃแƒœแƒ”แƒ— แƒ“แƒแƒ›แƒแƒขแƒ”แƒ‘แƒแƒ–แƒ”.

    The dBASE file opens as a new Calc spreadsheet.

    แƒ’แƒแƒ•แƒ แƒ—แƒฎแƒ˜แƒšแƒ”แƒ‘แƒ˜แƒก แƒฎแƒแƒขแƒฃแƒšแƒ

    If you want to save the spreadsheet as a dBASE file, do not alter or delete the first row in the imported file. This row contains information that is required by a dBASE database.


To Import a dBASE File Into a Database Table

A LibreOffice Base database table is actually a link to an existing database.

  1. Choose File - New - Database.

  2. In the File name box of the Save As dialog, enter a name for the database.

  3. แƒ“แƒแƒแƒฌแƒ™แƒแƒžแƒฃแƒœแƒ”แƒ— แƒ“แƒแƒ›แƒแƒขแƒ”แƒ‘แƒแƒ–แƒ”.

  4. In the Database type box of the Database Properties dialog, select "dBASE".

  5. แƒ“แƒแƒแƒฌแƒ™แƒแƒžแƒฃแƒœแƒ”แƒ— แƒ“แƒแƒ›แƒแƒขแƒ”แƒ‘แƒแƒ–แƒ”.

  6. แƒ“แƒแƒแƒฌแƒ™แƒแƒžแƒฃแƒœแƒ”แƒ— แƒ“แƒแƒ›แƒแƒขแƒ”แƒ‘แƒแƒ–แƒ”.

  7. Locate the directory that contains the dBASE file, and click OK.

  8. แƒ“แƒแƒแƒฌแƒ™แƒแƒžแƒฃแƒœแƒ”แƒ— แƒ“แƒแƒ›แƒแƒขแƒ”แƒ‘แƒแƒ–แƒ”.

To Save a Spreadsheet as a dBASE File

  1. Choose File - Save As.

  2. In the File format box, select "dBASE file".

  3. In the File name box, type a name for the dBASE file.

  4. แƒ“แƒแƒแƒฌแƒ™แƒแƒžแƒฃแƒœแƒ”แƒ— แƒ“แƒแƒ›แƒแƒขแƒ”แƒ‘แƒแƒ–แƒ”.

แƒจแƒ”แƒœแƒ˜แƒจแƒ•แƒœแƒ˜แƒก แƒฎแƒแƒขแƒฃแƒšแƒ

Only the data on the current sheet is exported.