\<bookmark_value\>exporting;spreadsheets to dBase\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>importing;dBase files\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>dBase import/export\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>spreadsheets; importing dBase files\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>spreadsheets; exporting to dBase files\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>database tables;importing dBase files\</bookmark_value\>

Importing and Exporting dBASE Files

You can open and save data in the dBase file format (*.dbf file extension) in LibreOffice Base or a spreadsheet. In LibreOffice Base, a dBase database is a folder that contains files with the .dbf file extension. Each file corresponds to a table in the database. Formulas and formatting are lost when you open and save a dBase file from LibreOffice.

To Import a dBase File Into a Spreadsheet

  1. Choose \<emph\>File - Open\</emph\>.

  2. Locate the *.dbf file that you want to import.

  3. Click \<emph\>Open\</emph\>.

    The \<emph\>Import dBase files\</emph\> dialog opens.

  4. Click \<emph\>OK\</emph\>.

    The dBase file opens as a new Calc spreadsheet.

    Warning Icon

    If you want to save the spreadsheet as a dBase file, do not alter or delete the first row in the imported file. This row contains information that is required by a dBase database.


To Import a dBase File Into a Database Table

A LibreOffice Base database table is actually a link to an existing database.

  1. Choose \<item type=\"menuitem\"\>File - New - Database\</item\>.

  2. In the \<emph\>File name\</emph\> box of the \<emph\>Save As\</emph\> dialog, enter a name for the database.

  3. Click \<emph\>Save\</emph\>.

  4. In the \<emph\>Database type \</emph\>box of the \<emph\>Database Properties\</emph\> dialog, select "dBASE".

  5. Click \<emph\>Next\</emph\>.

  6. Click \<emph\>Browse\</emph\>.

  7. Locate the directory that contains the dBase file, and click \<emph\>OK\</emph\>.

  8. Click \<emph\>Create\</emph\>.

To Export a Spreadsheet to a dBase File

  1. Choose \<emph\>File - Open\</emph\>.

  2. In the \<emph\>File format\</emph\> box, select "dBase file".

  3. In the \<emph\>File name\</emph\> box, type a name for the dBase file.

  4. Click \<emph\>Save\</emph\>.

Note Icon

Only the data on the current sheet is exported.