\<bookmark_value\>database ranges; filtering\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>cell ranges;filtering\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>filtering; database ranges\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>filtering;cell ranges\</bookmark_value\>\<bookmark_value\>database ranges; removing filters\</bookmark_value\>

Filtering Cell Ranges

You can use several filters to filter cell ranges in spreadsheets. A standard filter uses the options that you specify to filter the data. An AutoFilter filters data according to a specific value or string. An advanced filter uses filter criteria from specified cells.

To Apply a Standard Filter to a Cell Range

1. Click in a cell range.

2. Choose \<item type=\"menuitem\"\>Data - Filter - Standard Filter\</item\>.

3. In the \<emph\>Standard Filter\</emph\> dialog, specify the filter options that you want.

4. Click \<emph\>OK\</emph\>.

   The records that match the filter options that you specified are shown.

To Apply an AutoFilter to a Cell Range

1. Click in a cell range or a database range.

   

   If you want to apply multiple AutoFilters to the same sheet, you must first define database ranges, then apply the AutoFilters to the database ranges.

   
   

2. Choose \<item type=\"menuitem\"\>Data - Filter - AutoFilter\</item\>.

   An arrow button is added to the head of each column in the database range.

3. Click the arrow button in the column that contains the value or string that you want to set as the filter criteria.

4. Select the value or string that you want to use as the filter criteria.

   The records that match the filter criteria that you selected are shown.

To Remove a Filter From a Cell Range

1. Click in a filtered cell range.

2. Choose \<item type=\"menuitem\"\>Data - Filter - AutoFilter\</item\>.